How Are Colours Of Navratri Decided

The goddess Durga is honoured during the Hindu festival of Navratri in each of her nine forms. The nine-day event has a different colour associated with each day.

During the Hindu festival of Navratri, the goddess Durga is honoured in each of her nine manifestations. Each day of the nine-day event is related to a different colour. 

The Navratri colours are selected each year based on the day of the week in which the festival begins. All the nine colors follow a set color cycle.

The nine colours of Navratri each stand for a particular aspect of the goddess Durga. For instance, the hues white and red are associated with her composure and purity, whilst red is associated with her power and might.

Religious significance

In some contexts, the choice of colour is influenced by astrological and planetary factors. Yellow and green, for instance, are associated with Venus and the Sun, respectively.

Planetary influence

The selection of colours for Navratri might be influenced by the cultural traditions and practises of the various Indian regions. For instance, the colour pink is associated with the goddess Ambaji, a respected divinity in Gujarat.

Cultural custom

Sharad Navratri, which falls between the monsoon and the autumn, and Chaitra Navratri, which falls between the winter and the spring, both occur when the seasons change.

Seasonal connection

Do You Know About the Dates, Colours and Significance of Navratri 2023